Shop Sonix iPhone Cases, Sunglasses, Tech Accessories and Small Leather Goods NEW Inkbox Tattoos Banners

Music ISH: Jay Z 'Magna Carta Holy Grail' Tracklist Revealed [Video]

Jay-Z’s newest album, “Magna Carta Holy Grail” will be released 72 hours in advance to owners of certain Samsung Galaxy devices. The first million to download the app will get a free copy of the full album. Samsung, the manufacturer of the popular brand of smartphones and tablets, have made an exclusive deal with the Grammy award winning hip-hop artist to distribute the album via the Google Play Store. Starting Monday, if you own a Samsung Galaxy SIII, S4 or Galaxy Note II, you can download the free Magna Carta app in preparation for the July pre-release.

The app will feature plenty more than just advanced access of the album. As of right now, the app features lyrics to what is assumed to be one of the tracks on the album, some of which are etched out. The app also has exclusive videos including Jay speaking with a few of the producers on the album, including Timbaland and Pharrell.

On Saturday, Jay-Z held a promotional scavenger hunt across Brooklyn for “Magna Carta Holy Grail”, which would reveal the tracklist. Youtube user “Jason Million” was kind enough to share the thirteen song tracklist.

1. “Picasso Baby”

2. “Heaven”

3. “Versus”

4. “Tom Ford”

5. “Beach Is Better”

6. “F—WithMeYouKnowIGotIt”

7. “Oceans”

8. “F.U.T.W.”

9. “Part II (On The Run)”

10. “BBC”

11. “La Familia”

12. “Jay-Z Blue”

13. “Nickles & Dimes”

This deal with Samsung essentially guarantees that the album will go platinum before it is even released. Samsung paid Mr. Carter 5 million dollars to do this deal. Billboard has already confirmed that the one million free downloads will not count towards album’s total sales.

This is an interesting way for artists to not only release their album, but to guarantee that they will get financial returns. Don’t be surprised if we see more of this in the future from other big name artists. It also an interesting move for Samsung to make considering their competition announced iTunes Radio earlier this month. Maybe not a direct answer to Apple’s announcement, but much more exciting considering other radio services like Pandora and Spotify already exist.

“Magna Carta Holy Grail” releases July 4th. Look out for our coverage of Jay-Z’s twelfth studio album in the coming weeks.

Connecting you to what's trending.

Share this: